About  |  Membership  |  Contact

Mini media conference amid presenters, performers

JJA Media Forward at APAP, CMA

Jan 16th, 2012 | By

JJA panelists, from left: Geller, Kawell, Jackson, Seroff, Mandel

The JJA’s four-session (plus party) NYC mini-conference within the Association for Performing Arts Presenters’ annual convention, Jan. 6 through 8, and our panel “Social Media Without Fear” at the Chamber Music America conference, Jan. 14, engaged some 150 journalists, publicists, presenters and artists with news and tips about media now.With panelists ranging across the musical-infrastructure spectrum and attendees including a similar spread of activities and interests, topics ranged from new forms of interactive media programming through issues of news dissemination for local institutions to hands-on tips for social media mastery. JJA VP Yvonne Ervine, digital media consultant Jo Ann Kawell and myself, president, moderated lively discussions, seminar style, which stimulated exchanges with Michael Geller, executive director of American Composers Orchestra, Josh Jackson of WBGO/NPR Music’s “The Checkout” and John Seroff of GreenHouse Publicity; film/video maker Jeremy Robins, JazzItUp! webtv producer/director George Morrer and JJA members Greg Thomas (JazzItUp! and NY Daily News), Susan Brink (eyeJAZZ tv) and Michal Shapiro (Huffington post videoblogger); John Gilbreath (Earshot Jazz, Seattle), Marguerite Horberg (Portoluz, Chicago), Doron Sadja (Roulette, Brooklyn), and Scott Mehinick (Improvised Communications/JazzDIY); Steve Smith (Time Out New York), Giovanni Russonello (CapitalBop.com, Washington D.C.) and Mark Christman (Ars Nova Workshop, Philadelphia); pianist D.D. Jackson and bassoonist Monica Ellis (Imani Winds).

Among JJA members in attendance at the panels and/or a reception co-hosted by the JJA with NPR Music and WBGO (I’m sure to miss many): David Adler, Nancy Barell, Janice Bond, Gwen Cavlier, Barbara Connelly, Russ Davis, Kent Devereaux, Enid Farber, Lois Gilbert, Norm Harris, Patrick Jarenwattananon, Joyce Jones, Sanford Josephson, Dan Kassell, Matt Kassell, Jimmy Katz, Fran Kaufmann, Elzy Kolb, Geoff Himes, Joel Levin, Jim Macnie, Gene Marlow, Lynn Mueller, Dr. Ana Isabel Ordonez, Ted Panken, Emilie Pons, Jon Poses, Becca Pulliam, Francie Scanlon, Mitch Myers, Mitchell Seidel, Lew Shaw, Arnold Jay Smith, Daniel Smith, Carol Sudhalter, Steve Sussman, Scott Thompson, Yulun Wang, Joan Watson-Jones, Mike West, Tim Wilkins and Adina Williams (If you were there and I’ve forgotten, forgive me or contact and I’ll add you in). The JJA also further strengthened relationships with many non-affiliated attendees, notably vocalist Paulette Dozier, a sponsor of the JJA Jazz Awards.

The JJA mini-conference occurred just after the day-long JazzTimes DIY Crash Course, part of the APAP conference, and while Jazz Connect, APAP’s self-produced series of jazz-related panels, was taking place. Winter Jazzfest was another focal point of activities Jan. 6 through 8, as some 60 bands showcased at five venues in Greenwich Village, and the NEA Jazz Masters ceremonies at and around Jazz at Lincoln Center was climactic, Jan 10. JJA member and Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism Award winner Dan Morgenstern, also an NEA Jazz Master, was among the already-announce honorees at Lincoln Center as was JJA “A Team” award winner George Avakian.

The JJA has produced mini-conferences at APAP now for three years running. The 2012 panel was the first time the JJA has been invited to participate in the Chamber Music America conference, but the organization has put on numerous panels, town halls and seminar-style workshops at IAJE conferences, the New School Jazz and Contemporary Music program and festivals in North America and Europe. For information on how to create panels or conferences in the JJA model, or to engage the JJA for such thematic, professionally oriented programs, contact President@jazzjournalists.org.


About Howard Mandel

Howard Mandel is an author, media and events producer, editor, educator, lecturer and president of the Jazz Journalists Association.

• • •

Filed In: Headliners

Leave a Comment